That sinking feeling

Was shooting by myself the other day, which I haven’t done for a long while. It was nice to be able to concentrate on the scene, and not worry about companions being bored, or just drawing too much on their patience. I should say that it is purely my own hang-ups that are in my way when shooting in the company of others – my wife is amazing, pointing out interesting scenes, urging me to take my time. Well what can I say; I’m still working on being able to just concentrate on making photos, and not thinking about my fellow companions.

Anyway, back to the shoot. After having been driving around for a while, I decided to go to Esrum, north of Copenhagen. Just before reaching Esrum I noticed a small lake through trees near the road. A very nice area – I manage to get a couple of panoramas in HDR, shoot with 3×3 images at 2 stop intervals.

I chose to make the images with HDR because of the very high contrasts in the scene, sometimes that can give a good result, but I was really interested in getting the textures in the foreground (which were in the shadow), and I did not like all the fresh spring colors and the water in the background to be totally blown out.

The area around the lake is very swampy, and I actually think it might strictly speaking be a wet bog. Anyway, to position myself for the last shot (the one shown here) I had to stand in the swampy area, the camera and tripod where light enough not to sink too quickly, although it was a bit of a challenge to make the panorama HDR without unwanted camera movement, not quit so with me I certainly had that sinking feeling as soon as I where standing still.

Near Esrum

~ by sorenjohansen on April 27, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
